Complementary Connections

I was able to get a better picture of the yarn I dyed yesterday that I decided to call ‘Mirabilia.’ I’m a big fan of the way this yarn turned out – it has a fairy tale like quality. It should be up in my Etsy store tomorrow!

Mirabilia

Today I took a look at the handy dandy color wheel again for some inspiration for my next few skeins of yarn and I decided that I really wanted to do something with complementary colors. Now I know that sometimes complementary colors can go extremely wonky when the dyes mix (i.e. turn muddy) so I knew that I had to be careful. My first attempts with greens accompanied with reds and purples. It turned out mostly well although next time I will certainly add more red dye because it didn’t take saturate it quite as much. It still looks great so perhaps I’ll withhold all judgement until the skeins dries.

My second attempt paired oranges with blue. I’m pretty pleased with the way this one turned out! I took a picture, but since I wasn’t finished dyeing until well into the night (and if I’m honest with myself, I didn’t even rinse the orange/blue skein until the new episode of ‘Game of Thrones’ was finished) so the lighting is trash. I just couldn’t help myself though. Even my husband was quite pleased with them. (Someday I’ll have to write about my husband’s reaction to my wish to start an Etsy store and sell yarn. He is always supportive, I just have a lot of plans for him to support!)

ComplementaryColors

Alright, it’s late and Miss Emme beckons – more dyeing adventures, general fun, and much better pictures tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

