Mini-skeins and Hexipuffs

Pack 1 MiniSkein Collage

The beekeeper’s quilt is a pattern that I will always come back to because it is so beautiful and each little puff is a project in and of itself.  What got me thinking about hexipuffs are those adorable little yarn skeins called mini-skeins.  They are so lovely, versatile, and provide just enough yarn to create something fun and quick.  With all of this yarn that I have been dyeing, I was wondering if I would every use any myself to knit something. Well, mini-skeins provide me that opportunity without having to use an entire skein!

To that end, I have been quite busy with my yarn dyeing today!  I woke up this morning and remembered that when I originally started this whole hand dyeing business that I wanted to sell mini-skeins.  I originally started out with dividing a 100 gram skein into 10 mini-skeins and then dyeing each one individually.  Needless to say, that was rather labor intensive and not at all efficient. I decided to put a halt on the mini-skein adventure and dye up a bunch of full skeins and get an inventory started so I could get the Etsy going.

Fast forward a few weeks and I finally have the inventory to get back to it!  I am dividing skeins that I have already dyed into 10 gram/45 yard mini-skeins.  Since I created 2 skeins of each of the Spring collection, I decided to scale each of the 8 colorways back to just one on sale and use the additional to make my first batch of mini-skeins.  Yay!  I completed one set today as a trial and am pretty happy with it!  The colorways included in the picture above are, clockwise – ‘daffodil,’ ‘tulip bouquet,’ spring dawn,’ and ‘flowers in showers.’

I am going to create mini-skein sets by dyeing more of the yarns that are currently in my store, namely the yarns that I consider part of the “complementary connection” collection.  I dyed up additional skeins of ‘quisquos’ and ‘telary’ today and plan to create another ‘eadness’ and a new colorway that I haven’t posted my Etsy store yet called ‘mabsoot.’  For now I have just the one set up for store, but there will be many more to follow!

Leave a Reply

