Getting Organized!

I’ve started to think about how I want to organize my pictures and formulas for all of the yarns I’m creating.  Right now I’m saving them on my computer and also uploading them to Flickr (I have had my computer crash waaaaaay too many times for me to just save things in one place), and also saving them on an external hard drive once a week.  Right now I am forcing myself not to dye anymore yarns until I get all of my formulas typed up and saved in a more organized fashion.  (That is not to say that I don’t have yarn soaking, waiting to be dyed!)

My old school librarian wants me keep a paper record of the photo and the formula together though so I have been mulling this over for the past few weeks as my dyeing formulas grow.  I’m a big fan of tangible items, but understand the practicality and convenience of digital versions.

For the actual dyeing process, I have a small, narrow notebook that I keep in the kitchen with me while I’m dyeing to write down the combinations, what worked/didn’t work, thoughts to keep in mind for subsequent dyeing sessions, etc. and then I re-write and flesh out details in a nice teal notebook.  This has been working out well so far, but I wonder if there is a better way to be organized so that I can quickly locate the formula for a colorway instead of just flipping through a book.

Where the magic begins!

Where the magic begins!

With that in mind, Miss Emme and I went out yesterday to Staples to explore a bit and I found a rather cute little 5.5″ x 8.5″ binder and then found some filler paper to fill it with!  Since I knew I had a couple other stops to make with Miss Emme, I decided not to linger too long in the store, but when I got home I found out that Staples also carries 5.5″x8.5″ sheet protectors!  So what I think I’m going to do is pick up some of these sheet protectors, get my favorite picture of each yarn printed up and then glue the picture to one side of a nice piece of cardstock and the formula to the other side, slip into the sheet protector, and ta-da, instant organization!

New 5.5"x8.5" binder for easier storage of photos and dyeing formulas

New 5.5″x8.5″ binder for easier storage of photos and dyeing formulas

What tools do you use to stay organized?

Leave a Reply

