Watch Your Tone ::wink::

BlueYarn.5.20.13

I must say, my favorite part of yarn dyeing so far has been planning my grand color plans.  I typically start with my notebook, pen, and a picture of the color wheel on my phone and try to visualize how colors will look when combined.  This process can only tell me so much because I’m never quite sure how the colors will mesh once the dyes swirling around the yarns.  I feel like a crafty scientist in my laboratory as I add more “ingredients” to the pot, anxiously awaiting the finished result, and hoping for success.  (As I always so though, they are no mistakes with yarn dyeing, maybe a few surprises!)

My experiments for the past couple of days have led me down a tonal path that I am more than happy to follow!  The majority of my yarns up to this point have been highly variegated (because I love the look of them), but with my newest shipment of superwash merino, I decided to devote skeins to one family of colors.  To that end, I have dyed a skein each of greens, blues, and burnt orange/bright orange,  all of which I adore!  The blue and green skeins were completed today and are drying, but I just couldn’t resist taking a picture of the blue skein before it went onto the rack.  The lighting isn’t the best since I took it at night time under artificial light, but there will certainly be more pictures to come!

2 thoughts on “Watch Your Tone ::wink::

Leave a Reply

