The Best Intentions

Well, I really thought that I would have time to re-skein at least one of the new yarns last night, but mother nature had other ideas!  Imagine my surprise when I found out that no only were we forecasted to get torrential rain, but also a tornado warning!  Since it was just Miss Emme and I, I decided to instead spend my free moments getting the house ready for the high winds and the rain.

Just when I thought we weren’t going to get hit too hard, the sky opened up and there went the power.  Now Mr. Yarny Cakes is pretty awesome and has our entire house connected to a generator that powers just about everything except the stove.  So there I was sitting in the candlelight with the baby wondering if I should bother to go get the generator running.  I had been given a brief rundown of the steps when Mr. Yarny Cakes first installed it, but that floated out of my head.  (I learn by doing, so I probably should have done a run through…)  I eventually decided that it was a must because no power=flooding basement because the sump pump is off.  That and I really don’t like wandering around in the dark needlessly.

I was able to consult with Mr. Yarny Cakes and get the thing sorted just in time for Miss Emme’s bedtime so it was quite nice to have power as night set-in. 

Long story short, I didn’t get the yarn wound up.  I don’t know that I’ll be able to do it tomorrow either, I’ll just play it by ear.  For now, I think it’s time for some well deserved relaxation time!

2 thoughts on “The Best Intentions

Leave a Reply

