Felicity – A New Yarny Cakes yarn

20130608_215959_20130614005037481

 

Things have been busy with the Yarny Cakes family so I’ve been away a bit. Miss Emme is really starting to get this rolling over thing down and she has shifted her bedtime so I’ve had to adjust my routine a bit. Ultimately this means that my naptime ninja act that was so successful in the mornings is now a bit limited as she wakes up earlier. Clearly I need to fall back and regroup – I’ve been a bit out of sync since we returned from our long road trip. Time to get it together, but I am at Miss Emme’s whim so I am following her lead!

That being said, I have been steadily dyeing more yarn, but haven’t posted any delicious pictures for a while. I have quite a few skeins that need ti be re-skeined and they’ll be ready to go.

I had wanted to get all of the previously dyed yarns sorted out and up in the shop before delving into my newest line of yarn.   I have missed dyeing yarn and think that tomorrow is as good a day as any to dive in!

The new line features a sock weight yarn consistibg of superwash merino, cashmere, and nylon – (yum!) – still deciding on the name.  Somehow I ended up with names relating to happiness so I’ll stick with that. The front runner is felicity. Now I just need to decide on colors. I have been playing around with solids, but for these darlings, I may go back to my beloved variegated. Oh the possibilities!

In keeping with the Yarny Cakes name, I have also been baking a bit. My friend asked me to bake something for her yard sale and she didn’t have a preference on flavor. Mr. YarnyCakes recommended straight up vanilla on vanilla, but I thought that would be to boring so I stuck with the vanilla cake, but whipped up a raspberry white chocolate buttercream. For kicks, I topped each one with a sugared fresh raspberry. I leave you with the sneak peek pic I sent to my friend while the sugared raspberries were drying.

6 thoughts on “Felicity – A New Yarny Cakes yarn

  1. I totally understand the whole “naptime ninja” thing! In the next few months or so, my Little One will be transitioning to one nap a day. Eek! Around that time, we’ll also be welcoming her little sister into the world, so things are about to get very interesting around here. 🙂

    Good luck with your dying! I love drooling over the gorgeous pictures of your colorful yarn!

  2. I love your yarn, if I was rich I would buy every skein and roll around in it before I knitted it (how scary is that visual)! Hope you and the munchkin find your groove, cannot wait to see pics!

Leave a Reply

